Tbilisi 2009: Eighth International Tbilisi Symposium on Language, Logic and Computation

Tbilisi 2009: Home

Eighth International Tbilisi Symposium on Language, Logic and Computation
Bakuriani, Georgia, September 21-25 2009

Dedicated to Leo Esakia and Dick de Jongh on the occasion of their 75th and 70th birthdays
The Eighth Tbilisi Symposium on Language, Logic and Computation will be held in in the vicinity of Tbilisi, Georgia, from September 21 to 25, 2009. The Symposium is organized by the Institute for Logic, Language and Computation (ILLC) of the University of Amsterdam in conjunction with the Centre for Language, Logic and Speech at the Tbilisi State University and the Georgian Academy of Sciences. The 2009 forum is the eighth instalment of a series of biannual Symposia. The preceding meetings took place in the Georgian mountain resort Gudauri (1995), at the capital of Georgia Tbilisi (1997), in the Black see coastal resort Chakvi (1999), in the spa resort Likani situated in the Borjomi Canyon (2001), Tbilisi (2003), Batumi (2005) and Tbilisi (2007).

Symposium Venue

Bakuriani is a beautiful mountain resort standing on the bed of volcanic lava flow and surrounded by fir-covered mountains. Abundance of coniferous forests makes the Bakuriani air crystal fresh. Unique mineral waters of Borjomi take their origin in the alpine slopes above the forests.

Exceptional climatic conditions make Bakuriani not only a seasonal but also a permanent resort. Cool summer, marvelous views, fresh air, many tourist routes to Tskhratskaro Range, Tabatskuri and Kakhisi lakes, Borjomi National Park and historical monuments make it a great destination all year around.

Important dates

First call for papers: February 1, 2009
Second call for papers:    March 1, 2009
Third call for papers: April 15, 2009
Submission deadline May 8, 2009 (closed)
Notification of acceptance: June 15, 2009
Final abstracts due: August 1, 2009
Early Registration deadline: August 15, 2009
Symposium: September 21 - 25, 2009


Organizing Committee

Rusiko Asatiani
Paul Dekker (chair)
David Gabelaia
Peter van Ormondt

Local Organizing Committee

Anna Chutkerashvili
Marina Ivanishvili
Nino Javashvili
Liana Lortkipanidze
Khimur Rukhaia