Batumi 2005: Sixth International Tbilisi Symposium on Language, Logic and Computation

Batumi 2005: Call for Papers

Areas of Interest

The Symposium welcomes papers on current research in all aspects of Linguistics, Logic and Computation, including but not limited to:

  • Natural language syntax, semantics, and pragmatics
  • Algebraic and relational semantics
  • Natural language processing
  • Logic in AI and natural language
  • Natural language and logic programming
  • Automated reasoning
  • Natural language and databases
  • Information retrieval from text
  • Natural language and internet
  • Constructive and modal logic
  • Language evolution

In line with the main trend in this field we strongly encourage the submission of papers concerning applications of logic to computation and the application of logic and computation to language description and modelling.

Conference Format

The conference will include presentations of submitted papers, three tutorials and plenary talks by internationally renowned experts. All accepted submissions will appear in the conference proceedings. The proceedings of The Sixth International Tbilisi Symposium on Language, Logic and Computation are published by the ILLC.

Submission of papers

For the general program 30 papers can be accepted for presentation. All submitted papers are strictly reviewed by the program committee. Papers can be submitted by sending in an abstract of no more than 2 pages a4, which includes the title, the author's name, affiliation and e-mail address, an abstract of 200 words maximum, and up to five keywords. The contributions can be submitted electronically here.

Important dates

Call for papers: March 31, 2005
Submission deadline: May 1, 2005
Notification of acceptance:    June 15, 2005
Registration deadline: July 15, 2005
Final abstracts due: August 15, 2005
Symposium: September 12 - 16, 2005

Program Committee

George Chikoidze (Georgian Academy of Sciences, chair)
Dick de Jongh (University of Amsterdam, chair)

Kata Balogh (University of Amsterdam)
Nick Bezhanishvili (University of Amsterdam)
Igor Boguslavsky (Russian Academy of Sciences)
Balder ten Cate (University of Amsterdam)
Nani Chanishvili (Tbilisi State University)
Paul Dekker (University of Amsterdam)
Leo Esakia (Tbilisi State University)
Claire Gardent (CNRS, Nancy)
Frans Groen (University of Amsterdam)
Wilfrid Hodges (Queen Mary, London)
Manfred Krifka (Humboldt-Universität, Berlin)
Barbara Partee (University of Massachusetts)
Kakhi Sakhltkhutsishvili (Utrecht University)
Remko Scha (University of Amsterdam)
Carl Vogel (Trinity College Dublin)
Andrei Voronkov (University of Manchester)
Henk Zeevat (University of Amsterdam)
Ede Zimmermann (Johann Wolfgang Goethe Universität Frankfurt)