LCD'07 : Workshop on Logics and Collective Decision making

Erasmus International Institute MSH Nord-Pas-de-Calais March 13-14, 2007, Lille, France


A workshop on the connections between logics and collective decision making theories took place in Lille on March 13-14, 2007.

Group decision-making problems occur each time a collective choice has to be made from several individuals who have conflicting interests or preferences. There has recently been a growing interest in the use of logic as the basic tool for formalizing and computing those problems. This is particularly true of two close fields of research. The first one lies at the intersection of game theory and logics, especially by exploring how modal logics may be used to model and reason about games. A second one, which focuses on the logical insights into rational collective choice, has recently emerged around issues of judgment aggregation and beliefs/goals merging, on the one hand, and logical formalization of welfare distribution processes (social software), on the other. These two domains propose further formal refinements, using logical tools, of the classical theories of collective decision-making, by offering new evaluation criteria of and new ways of building social choice procedures. These new insights into these collective decision-making theories also offer new perspective to political philosophy and ethics. The workshop aimed at sparking off interaction between social choice theorists, computer scientists, logicians and philosophers.

The workshop took place at the University of Lille 3, Villeneuve d'Ascq, France.

Invited Speakers

Ken Binmore (DE, University College London)
Franz Dietrich (University of Maastricht and LSE)
Wiebe van der Hoek (DCS, University of Liverpool)
Gabriella Pigozzi (CSC, University of Luxembourg)

Participants will be invited to submit full original papers in the interface of the areas of logics and collective decision making theories for a publication in the Springer serie Logic, Epistemology, and the Unity of Science directed by Shahid Rahman.

Program Committee

Thomas Ågotnes (Bergen University College)
Salem Benferhat (CRIL, University of Artois)
Johan van Benthem (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
Cristina Bicchieri (University of Pennsylvania)
Giacomo Bonanno (University of California)
Laurence Broze (EQUIPPE, University of Lille)
Patrice Canivez (STL, University of Lille)
Samir Chopra (Brooklyn College of the City University of New York)
Franz Dietrich (University of Maastricht and LSE)
Ulle Endriss (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
Marc Fleurbaey (CERSES, University of Paris 5)
Thibault Gajdos (Centre d’Economie de la Sorbonne, University of Paris 1)
Andreas Herzig (IRIT, University of Toulouse)
Wiebe van der Hoek (University of Liverpool)
Hubert Jayet (EQUIPPE, University of Lille)
Frédéric Jouneau (EQUIPPE, University of Lille)
Sébastien Konieczny (CRIL, University of Artois) (co-chair)
Barteld Kooi (University of Groningen)
Jérôme Lang (IRIT, University of Toulouse)
Christian List (LSE)
Pierre Marquis (CRIL, University of Artois)
Nicolas Maudet (University of Paris 9)
Eric Pacuit (ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
Rohit Parikh (Brooklyn College of the City University of New York)
Marc Pauly (Stanford University)
Philip Pettit (Princeton University)
Gabriella Pigozzi (University of Luxembourg)
Shahid Rahman (STL, University of Lille) (co-chair)
Maurice Salles (CREM, University of Caen)
Jean-Christophe Vergnaud (EUREQua, University of Paris 1)
John Weymark (Vanderbilt University)
Mike Wooldridge (University of Liverpool)

Organizing Committee
  • Cédric Dégremont (STL, University of Lille and ILLC, University of Amsterdam)
  • Patricia Everaere (CRIL, University of Artois)
  • Emmanuel Genot (STL, University of Lille)
  • Emeline Huart (MSH Nord-Pas-de-Calais)
  • Laurent Keiff (STL, Unversity of Lille)

You can contact us via