Call for papers,
Extended deadline: October 8th!!!!!!!!!!
1st International Wordnet Conference
Mysore, India,
21-25 January 2002

The Global Wordnet Association together with CIIL Mysore, IIT Bombay and IIIT Hyderabad are very pleased to announce the first International Conference on Wordnets. The conference will be held at the Central Institute of Indian Languages, Mysore (Karnataka State), India (

The conference will include tutorials on building wordnets, demonstrations of wordnet databases and wordnet-based software, wordnet project presentations and scientific papers on any issue related to wordnets, including but not limited to:

Presentations will fall into one of the following categories:

  1. --long papers (30 mins) (9 pages)
  2. --short papers (15 mins) (6 pages)
  3. --project reports (10 mins) (4 pages)
  4. --demonstrations (10 mins) (4 pages)

Submissions will have to state the preferred format. Acceptance may be subject to changes in the format or length of the presentation. (E.g., a long paper submission may be accepted as a short paper.)

Long papers should contain approximately 5,00 words (9 pages); short papers should be approx. 3,000 words long (6 pages). Project reports and transcripts of demos will be limited to approx. 2,000 words (4 pages of text). The papers should largely follow the ACL-style sheets. Style sheets and examples can be downloaded from the conference web site:

Papers should be submitted in electronic form (Word or PostScript). Author(s) should register as a submitter and email their paper to:

The deadline for submissions is October 1, 2001. Decisions regarding acceptance will be announced to the authors in early November.

The host institution (CIIL) has stated their intent to publish the Proceedings both in paper and CD format.

Program Committee:

Christiane Fellbaum (Chair), Princeton University (USA) Piek Vossen, Irion, NL (President of the GWA) Eneko Agirre, University of the Basque Country (ES) Pushpak Bhattacharya, IIT Bombay (India) Pierrette Bouillon, University of Geneva (CH) Nicoletta Calzolari, University of Pisa (IT) Phil Edmonds, Sharp (GB) Charles Fillmore, University of California at Berkeley (USA) Sandiway Fong, NECI Princeton (USA) Fernando Gomez, University of Central Florida (USA) Julio Gonzalo, UNED (ES) Maria Gronostaj, University of Goteborg (SW) Sanda Harabagiu, University of TX at Austin (USA) Yoshihiko Hayashi, NTT (Japan) Erhard Hinrichs, University of Tuebingen (D) Hideki Hirakawa, Toshiba (Japan) Graeme Hirst, University of Toronto (CA) B.D. Jayaram, CIIL, Mysore (India) Adam Kilgarriff, University of Brighton (GB) Bernardo Magnini, IRST Povo (IT) Yanis Maistros, New Technical University of Athens (GR) Palmira Marrafa, University of Lisbon (PT) S. P. Mudur, NCST, Mumbai (India) Karel Pala, University of Brno (CZ) Martha Palmer, University of Pennsylvania (USA) Bolette Pedersen, Center for Sprogteknologi, Copenhagen (DK) Wim Peters, University of Sheffield (GB) German Rigau, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya (ES) Antonio Sanfilippo, LingoMotors (USA) Rajeev Sangal, IIT, Hyderabad (India) Frederique Segond, Xerox Grenoble (F) U. N. Singh, Director of the CIIL, Mysore (India) Philip Resnik, University of Maryland (USA) Virach Sornlertlamvanich, NECTEC (Thailand) Kadri Vider, University of Tartu (Estonia) Evelyne Viegas, Microsoft (USA)

National Committee: Udaya Narayana Singh(Chair), Rajeev Sangal, Durgesh Rao, Pushpak Bhattacharya, K.V. Narayana Murthy, C.N. Krishnan, Laxmithathachar.

Local Organising Committee: Udaya Narayana Singh (Chair), B.D. Jayaram (Secretary), K.S. Rajyashree, A.K. Basu, Jennifer Bayer, R. Krishnamurthy, Tony McEnery.

Important dates:

Involved Organisations:

  1. WordNet
  2. EuroWordNet
  3. Global Wordnet Association
  4. CIIL Mysore
  5. IIT Bombay
  6. IIIT Hyderabad